Minutes of a meeting of the Joint Governance Sub-Committee

Members Room, Shoreham Centre

14 September 2022 at 6.30 pm

Councillor Andy McGregor (Chair)

Councillor Mike Barrett Councillor Kevin Boram Councillor Lee Cowen Councillor Dan Hermitage Councillor Nigel Morgan

*Absent

JGCSC/21/22-23 Substitute Members

There were no substitutions.

JGCSC/22/22-23 Declarations of Interest

Councillor Nigel Morgan advised the Sub-Committee that one of the candidate's referees was known to him.

JGCSC/23/22-23 Public Question Time

There were no questions from the public.

JGCSC/24/22-23 Items Raised under Urgency Provisions

There were no urgent items raised.

JGCSC/25/22-23 Exclusion of Press and Public

Resolved that under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public and press be excluded from the meeting from the following item of business on the grounds that the item involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in the paragraph of Part 1 of Schedule 12 A to the Act.

JGCSC/26/22-23 Joint Independent Remuneration Panel Appoints

Before the Committee was an exempt report by the Director for Communities, copies of which had been circulated to all Members.

The Sub-Committee's terms of reference enabled it to consider and make appointments to the Joint Independent Remuneration Panel ('the Panel').

The Sub-Committee was informed that there were currently six vacancies on the Panel and that the Councils had received six applications.

Members were asked to interview candidates, using the interview questions set out in Appendix B with reference to the selection criteria set out in Appendix C, and make up to six appointments to the Panel.

Resolved,

The Joint Governance Sub-Committee appointed the following six Panel members for a term of four years (until 14 September 2026):-

- 1. Ms Julia Carrette
- 2. Mr Ray Chudley
- 3. Mr Neal Goddard
- 4. Mr Barry Hillman
- 5. Miss Karen Keeley
- 6. Mr Tim Ransley

The meeting ended at 10.00 pm